Bechdel Test: Half-Life 2

Half-Life 2

Status: Passing type 1 “A scene meeting these criteria is an unavoidable part of the game”

Description:“A marginal case. Prominent NPC characters Alyx and Mossman have two conversations:

In the first, they discuss some errors in the scientific apparatus they’re supervising; in the second, they start off partly talking about other male characters (Breen and Eli Vance) but segue into a technobabbly science discussion. It is arguable whether they count as ‘sustained’.”

Playable Character Test: There is a female playable character (who doesn’t meet the other criteria)

Note: My googe-fu couldn’t confirm that there was a female character. Please leave a comment if you can confirm or deny the presence of a playable female character.

(others have corrected this in the comments and original submitter confirmed they must have accidentally missed clicked, it happens)

Platform: Microsoft Windows, Xbox, Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, Mac OS

Source: Reader Submission by John Brindle. Thank you for your contribution. If you disagree with a game’s rating leave a comment below or E-mail me at namedbychaos @ aol.com.

Notes

Link to the Bechdel test of Half-life 1

What other have written about Half-Life 2:

Characters Done Right: Alyx Vance

Anti-antcitizen One

Half-Life 2: Alyx and Eli Vance

Half-Life 2: Dr. Breen and G-Man

Half-Life 2: Gordon Freeman

Gender in Half Life 2: Episode One – Will Alyx ever get her hands dirty?

Author Note: I feel the need to apologize for posting this so late, it was supposed to up last week wasn’t until now I realized I wrote it up and forgot to hit publish.

5 thoughts on “Bechdel Test: Half-Life 2

  1. I don’t know anything about a playable character either, and I submitted this! My words are being tampered with by the crypto-zionist fascist Bilderberg lizardman HAARP array. Alternatively, I mis-clicked somewhere in the submission form. My bad.

    • It happens, darn that crypto-zionist fascist Bilderberg lizardman HAARP array! Post has been corrected. Thank you for stopping by again.

  2. I don’t know anything about a playable character either, and I submitted this! My words are being tampered with by the crypto-zionist fascist Bilderberg lizardman HAARP array. Alternatively, I mis-clicked somewhere on the submission form. My bad.

  3. Glad to see this game made the cut. Maybe I need to examine it more closely, but I always thought Alyx was one of the better presented females in gaming culture. Couple this with Portal 2, and one wonders if Valve deserves (yet another) pat on the back when it comes to their writing.

Leave a Reply

